The Godfather of the Television Movie & More

Chuck Fries, has been dubbed “The Godfather of the Television Movie.” He is one of the only Producers who has a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame, and has participated in the production of over 5,000 series episodes, and more than 50 theatrical films.  Some of his major productions include Sea Hunt, Bewitched and Spiderman, and he has worked with such TV legends as Art Carney, Barbara Eden, John Ritter and scads more.

One of the accomplishments of which he is most proud is the creation of The Caucus for Producers, Writers and Directors.  This Honor Society is dedicated to promote the artistic rights of the creative community, and oppose any form of discrimination.

Vin Di Bona, Chuck Fries, Michael Lombardo & Gale Anne Hurd

We were pleased to attend their 30th Anniversary Awards Dinner, where Michael Lombardo (President of HBO Programming), Producer Gale Anne Hurd (The Walking Dead), and John Moffitt  (Comic Relief) were among the Honorees. We were pleased to greet our old pal, Valerie Harper, who was Hostess for the Event.  Best known as Rhoda Morgenstern on the Mary Tyler Show, and Rhoda, the effervescent beauty has been busy working on Broadway starring in such productions as The Tale of the Allergist’s Wife, Golda’s Balcony, and Looped, the story of Tallulah Bankhead, which recently opened at our own Pasadena Playhouse.

One of the highlights of the evening was the presentation of the student grant awards. Greek filmmaker Alethea Avramis of UCLA received lst place award of $60,000 for The Foreigner; and Jordan Salvatoriello of Emerson College was awarded $20,000 for Graceland Girls.

Dennis Doty & Stan Lathan

The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Stan Lathan, one of the most prolific producers & directors in Hollywood.  Some of the popular sitcoms he has produced include Sanford & Son, The Parkers, and The Steve Harvey Show.  In addition to receiving the Peabody and Tony Awards, he received the NAACP Image Award, and has been honored by the Directors Guild for his distinguished career

Jay Roach was lauded as Director of the Year; and Producer of the Year Award went to Homeland’s Howard Gordon and Alex Gansa.  The Writer’s Award was presented to Graham Yost, for FX’s Justified.

Kudos to Lee Miller, Executive Producer of the Caucus Awards, Vin Di Bona (America’s Funniest Videos, Entertainment Tonight) and all the hard working Caucus members for an evening of awards, admiration and achievement by the most creative and talented members of our community.

Valerie Harper & John Moffitt

As a television personality, guest speaker, newspaper reporter and columnist and one of the social arbiters of Los Angeles, Marci Weiner has touched every aspect of entertainment journalism. She has appeared as guest reporter on TV shows including Joan Rivers shows, Eye on LA, and the USA Network. In addition, she has hosted her own segments on Soap Talk, Hollywood Style and Hotline after Dark. You may contact Marci for info and invitations at [email protected]